Blogging Success

10 Jun

As is the case most evenings in our household, Olaf arrived home from work whilst I was bathing Luka. He usually makes a fuss of the boy whilst we have a quick, “Hi, how was your day?” conversation amongst the splashing about.

Olaf: Liked the post on your blog today,  you seem to have gotten quite a few hits. 

Me: What more than the usual amount?

Olaf: I think so…

So I quickly went online to check it out and OH MY WORD. There were literally hundreds more hits than usual. What the…? We had other stuff to do before I could sit down and have a good look at why my blog was suddenly so popular but I was dying to find out.

Finally, once Luka was asleep, I managed to sink into a chair outside, shawarmer in hand and have a look why the traffic to my site had increased.

It turns out that, ‘World’s Apart’, my post about the separation of the sexes over meals here in the Land of Sand was featured as one of the top 10 posts out of 300 000 WordPress posts for the day!

What a surprise for such a novice blogger. I am not kidding when I say that I hardly even know how to use this thing properly and I know that there is a stack more stuff that I could be doing. And I know for sure that my writing is average at best. Despite all this I had over 1200 visitors to my site on Tuesday and around 1000 more on Wednesday. I know that is small fry for full-time, serious bloggers who make their living blogging but for a hobby blogger like myself, it rocks!

HOW COOL WAS THAT?

8 Responses to “Blogging Success”

  1. home jobs June 10, 2010 at 11:02 am #

    Thanks for the information.

  2. trapperhoney June 10, 2010 at 11:30 am #

    congratulations! actually, that is how I found you, and I’m very glad I did. you do a wonderful job sharing what you are experiencing.

  3. Gayle June 11, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Well done!!!! It’s a great site, interesting and informative to say the least.

  4. Brigitte June 11, 2010 at 6:24 pm #

    Great ,well done .you see we all enjoy your writing

  5. Pop June 15, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Congrats! I got featured a while back and as a novice blogger, I had the same reaction you did. And congrats on being featured again!

  6. Melissa June 16, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    congrats! I am liking what I have read so far! keep it up.

  7. gealach June 16, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    It was your post “People without faces?” that showed up on the “Freshly pressed” page, that’s how I found your blog.

  8. M. M. June 19, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Congratulations 🙂
    I wish my blog post would ever make it to the freshly pressed 😛

Leave a Reply

