Wish we were there

11 Jun

Living in the Land of Sand is a great pleasure for me. I feel as though I have taken a step off the side of the world for a little while, am on an amazing adventure and I am in the very privileged situation that I get to be a full-time Mom to young Luka. I could honesty ask for nothing more. I have absolutely no desire to head back home to South Africa just yet. However, like anyone living abroad, I miss home when there are important events happening and I am not there to share in them. Important events may just involve our close family or they could involve the whole country. As it happens, the FIFA World Cup has come to Africa and South Africa is abuzz with what looks like the most incredible energy and positivity. I missed being there today!

I remember so well the Saturday morning on May the 15th 2004 when it was announced by Sepp Blatter that South Africa would be hosting the World Cup. I had to attend a course for work that morning and being rather sporty and an avid follower of many different sports, I was well aware that the announcement would be made whilst I was busy. I chomped at the bit all the way through the course wondering what had happened. Whilst listening to someone speaking in the group I suddenly started becoming aware of cars hooting in the streets outside and I knew that we had it. I jumped up from my seat and said something that I can no longer remember. Everyone turned and just stared at me, I can’t remember if I tried to explain why I had jumped up but I know that I left the seminar very soon afterwards. The streets of Johannesburg were filled with South African flags and beaming faces. 

We watched the opening ceremony and match on TV this afternoon, with Arabic commentary, I must add. Sang the national anthem with the rest of the country and was filled with a multitude of emotions like most South Africans. I even took a few pics of the images on TV. Does that make me a little crazy. Yeah, thought so.

Preparations are underway in our house in terms of supporters parafinalia, just haven’t quite got it all done yet. We should be up and running by tomorrow.

Good luck South Africa, we are with you in spirit. ‘Ke Nako” – It’s time!

5 Responses to “Wish we were there”

  1. trapperhoney June 11, 2010 at 8:47 pm #

    wish you best of luck!

  2. Gayle June 11, 2010 at 9:35 pm #

    I agree…… the opening ceremony was wonderful and to score the first goal was amazing…….Well done SA!!!!

  3. angirach June 16, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    Awesome! Ke Nako!!

  4. Rahiema June 21, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I wish I was there too…… I was super-glued to the telly for the Kickoff Concert and Opening Ceremony 🙂

    • dustbusting June 21, 2010 at 5:06 pm #

      Ahhh, you found me Rahiema! Opening Ceremonies back home always make me wanna cry, it’s pathetic! It was great though and they did us proud.

Leave a Reply

