Being my own stylist

20 Jun

I never thought I’d ever long for a proper haircut as much as I do now. You see, I’m not really that into my hair. As long as it looks fairly decent, I’m pretty much good to go. Quite frankly, I’d far rather spend the time going for run. It is so much more rewarding.  Way back in the day, when I used to live in South Africa, I would just make the call to a hairdresser located somewhere nearby and head over a few days later. No mess, no fuss. And when I was still at school and living at home, it was even easier as my Mom is a trained hairdresser and she would cut it just the way I liked it.

Not so in the Land of Sand!

It’s not that there is absolutely no place to go, it’s just that it is such a mission to get there. In fact we have a lady living in our compound that does a great job. You can’t get any easier than that, right? The problem is that we are heading into Summer Holiday time and the expat community are starting to leave Riyadh for the next two and a half months. And she has already left, I was too slow. I always drag my feet on the haircut issue and I always get burned.

My next option is to find out the name of the lady who lives in a western compound near by, phone her to see if she is still around, make an appointment if she is here, book a taxi ride with our main man Noor (women are not allowed to drive in the Land of Sand), make sure that the haircut time is coordinated to fit in with the babysitter availability timetable, put on abaya, take a trip across town, get stuck in traffic, have hair cut, rush back home as sitter needs to get to her next appointment and be grateful that it’s all over.

I really couldn’t be bothered with that so:

The only other option left to me is…

TO DO IT MYSELF!

So I did. I consulted with the all-knowing Google regarding ‘cutting your own hair in layers’, stood in front of the mirror and took my good sewing scissors to it.

Of course I chose the simplest technique I could find. It literally took about 2 minutes. The instructions were about 3 lines long and I skipped the matching YouTube video as Luka was going to need his breakfast so my time was short. 

The result: Well, my hair is shorter for one. No one has laughed out loud in front of me and it feels better. Of course I wouldn’t mind if someone could just refine it a little but it will do for now. Besides, with the weather as it is, my hair is up all day anyway.

 I’ll just go for a run if it starts to freak me out. Running always makes you feel better. Even better than a proper new haircut.

8 Responses to “Being my own stylist”

  1. jana June 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Did you use kid-proof scissors?

    Kidding aside, congratulations. I know how it feels living in a strange country, longing for your mom’s (or friend’s) tried-and-tested haircut. And I also know how if feels when you pick “the third option.”

    So, do you know what the best part of cutting your hair yourself is? It always looks great two weeks later. Always.

    • dustbusting June 20, 2010 at 1:34 pm #

      Ha, ha. Maybe I should have used the kid-proof scissors, that way things stay safe.
      The 2 weeks later idea gives me great hope. Thanks for that!

  2. trapperhoney June 20, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    wow, that is brave. i would never be brave enough 🙂

    • dustbusting June 20, 2010 at 1:35 pm #

      I don’t think there is any bravery involved. Necessity is the mother of invention, nothing else to it really. Maybe I am just too lazy to make the effort.

  3. JamesBrett June 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    no pictures, eh? i suppose we know what that means…

    i’ve decided to keep my hair shaved to about 1/4″ in tanzania, so that i can do it easily myself. you should consider the same.

    and i also prefer running to cutting my hair — though i feel faster on days when i’ve recently shaved.

    • dustbusting June 20, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

      I did actually considered taking it all off but I think I may be a little too vain for that, I still need a little femininity plus you have to be a serious beauty to pull that look off successfully.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Can a Hair stylist make more money than a Doctor or Lawyer? | Custom oil painting - June 20, 2010

    […] Being my own stylist « News from the Land of Sand […]

Leave a Reply

