A Transient Lifestyle

22 Jun

One of the tricky things about living in the Land of Sand is that it is a very transient existence. On the upside, we get to meet many interesting people from all walks of life on an almost weekly basis. After all, Saudi generally only attracts the fairly brave traveller and most brave travellers have good stories to tell.

Whilst this makes life interesting it can also keep interaction with others on a fairly superficial level.  I sometimes grow weary of the hard work of making small talk about all the usual expat stuff with yet another new person and I’m sure that they feel the same way about me. There are times when I feel like popping over to an old friend, in my pj’s, to watch the latest episode of Brother’s and Sister’s. I know that this is probably a common feeling amongst those of us living abroad and is just part of the deal.

People usually come out to The Land of Sand on 2 or 3 year contracts and then move on. However, due to the nature of the working environment, this can also end at any time before that so accepting a dinner invitation planned for 2 weeks time is considered a serious commitment. Okay, I exaggerate, but you get the point.

There is a small group of us girls that have gotten together regularly with our ‘little people’ for a play and a natter. The kiddo’s have known each other for almost their whole lives and already we have our first sibling of the group on the way! The group has evolved and changed as people have come and gone but a few of the stalwarts have remained from the beginning. Esra, one of the long-standing members of the group and my supplier (of authentic pistachio Turkish Delight) recently decided that the Dads needed to join us and so hosted us all for a breakfast at their home.

Below a pic of the United Nations:

The group consists of representatives from Turkey, England, Germany, South Africa (me, taking the photo) and Singapore. Strangely enough, all the ‘little people’ who originally brought the group together, had toddled off to play nearby and so none of them actually appeared in any of the photos but they do really exist, I promise. 

In the future, not too many years from now I imagine, most of the group will have moved on and will be sharing their lives and breakfasts with other people in other parts of the world. But for now, it is with us and we are grateful for their friendship.

7 Responses to “A Transient Lifestyle”

  1. Helette June 23, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    You bring tears to my eyes my friend……. 🙂 those were the days….

    • dustbusting June 23, 2010 at 9:34 am #

      Yip, that memory has your name witten all over it, right Lettie? Was it CSI that we watched back in those days on your couch?

      • Helette June 23, 2010 at 11:34 am #

        probably, we were seriously into CSI Miami back then! 😉

  2. Crissy June 29, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    Am I really seeing Mr. and Mrs. Jason Tan in this picture? What a small world… :-))

    • dustbusting June 29, 2010 at 7:41 am #

      No ways, how amazing is that! Where do you live Crissy?

      • Crissy June 30, 2010 at 2:07 am #

        So that’s really them? Actually, I haven’t met them personally. We just have a common friend. There was one time when they ( my friend and Jason) went to Bahrain together and my friend told me to look him up on facebook. And when I saw your pic my eyes got stuck on his picture thinking where I saw him and then I remember Jason 🙂 I am just amazed how my favorite blogger and a friend of a friend is connected 🙂

      • dustbusting June 30, 2010 at 5:44 am #

        It is amazing how small the world can be.

Leave a Reply

