Luka gets his hair cut

28 Jun

After much procrastination the time had finally arrived to tackle the job of cutting Luka’s hair. I have been trying to cut it on the sly, whilst he is in the bath or engrossed in a game but it never seems to work as he just HAS to know what I am doing and absolutely NEEDS to have those scissors otherwise life as we know it will come to an end. So I needed a better plan…

I decided on a day when it would be done and that there was no turning back. I think that lack of commitment to the cause was part of the problem so I had to set a deadline for myself. Now I know this sounds like I am about to tackle world hunger or my first brain surgery and seriously, I know that it was not really such a big deal. I am aware that I exaggerate just a tad.

Here he is the day before, after assisting me with some baking. He decided that the best way to get to the left over chocolate cake mixture was to put his whole head into the bowl, hence the chocolate on the forehead. He was looking like a hippie with the long hair, no?

 

My Mom suggested that I strap him into his feeding chair whilst I do it, which worked like a charm. Of course I had to haul out the entertainment as well. A snack, magnets from the fridge that he is NEVER allowed to touch and a new toy car or two all worked like magic to suck him into my little haircutting trap.

Here he is with wet hair all ready for the cut

It turned out to be so easy and I didn’t even need to rush as he was so busy playing that I had all the time in the world. He actually stayed in the chair for another 20 minutes after I had finished. Bribery was definitely the way forward on this one.

Here are the after pics.

14 Responses to “Luka gets his hair cut”

  1. trapperhoney June 28, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    great job!

  2. Helette June 28, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Well done!!! Luka is getting soooooooo cute… I also played hairdresser with Neenee the other day, her mop of hair was getting a bit out of hand. Quite a thing, not being able to balance yet!!! Lying on her tummy on the compactum, heehee!!!! I didn’t do too badly either, I think!
    The things we need to learn to do!!! xx

    • dustbusting June 28, 2010 at 6:40 pm #

      Oh my word Lettie, you are going to be cutting hair alot with Neenee’s mop that’s for sure! Better get her used to it before she gets mobile, your time is short.

  3. Gayle June 28, 2010 at 2:02 pm #

    Jeepers Pips! Thats really well done, he looks so sweet, I wish I could give him a big hug. With all those goodies I’m sure Luka would have his hair cut daily if he could.

  4. Crissy June 29, 2010 at 5:48 am #

    Great mom! Luka looks so cute…

  5. Helena June 29, 2010 at 6:11 am #

    I must try your bribery technique with Hansi. I started her hair cut two weeks ago but still can’t get round to finishing it. She is looking more and more like Stig of the Dump! My pretty girl is under that hair some where.

    • dustbusting June 29, 2010 at 7:46 am #

      Sis Helena! You know I think Hansi is the most gorgeous little girl in the whole of Saudi Arabia, long hair of not. And Luka agrees with me!

  6. jana June 29, 2010 at 9:42 pm #

    Luka looks adorable, good job!
    I especially liked the photograph with all the items used it the bribery plot neatly spread out on the table. You could bribe ME to do almost anything if you sat me in front of xylophone and some chocolate!

  7. sarahnsh July 4, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Too cute, great job! I’d always pay someone else to do a haircut… I don’t think my mom ever attempted to cut my hair herself. She offered to pluck my eyebrows for me once I started doing that, and I swiftly ran away from her because she currently has no eyebrows to pluck herself.

    • dustbusting July 7, 2010 at 6:21 am #

      Ha, ha! I would definately keep away from a Mom with tweezers and minimal eyebrows!

  8. Shane July 5, 2010 at 5:59 pm #

    Love to be able to read all your comments Pips, very entertaining. And to see all your photos, love it. Your little Luka is a real cutie pops he reminds me of you. Hope I get to see him one day.
    Hugs

Leave a Reply

