Homemade Gifts

10 Oct

This is the gorgeous Hansi, you may have met her here before. She turned 2 a few days ago and I took this pic of her enjoying a cupcake at her birthday party. Luka adores her, in fact we all adore her, she is a real little darling. For Luka, who does not attend many of the thousands of birthday parties as he is not in the compound nursery and is therefore not currently doing the party circuit (picture mother heaving a great sigh of relief) this was the event of the year. He is still, 3 days after the event, talking about Hansi’s party. For the hour and a half that we were there he could mostly be seen doing a couple of variations of this:

To say that this kid is completely and utterly besotted with all kinds of sports is an understatement.

Anyway, the gorgeous Hansi has a favorite little  doll, named baby, that she carries around with her and that absolutely no-one can touch. Being a bit of a baby doll girl myself (I played dolls till I was way too old, it was completely inappropriate but I loved em and still own em all) I understand that kind of love. Poor baby is often seen around town naked and with Hansi being a little girl after my own heart I decided that baby needed some new clothes for the upcoming birthday.

So I stole baby for a night when Hansi wasn’t looking, designed a few patterns on newspaper and I whipped up a couple of outfits for her. She got:

  • a couple of dresses

 

  • something warm for the upcoming winter

 

  • a couple of washable nappies (disposables are completely ruining the environment and Hansi is a very environmentally sassy kinda mama)

 

  • and somewhere comfortable to sleep whilst the little mama carries her around the house.

Hansi will become the proud owner of a brand new baby brother or sister in the next 6 weeks, so I thought the gift could also double up as a I-also-have-a-baby-to-dress-and-take-care-of distraction as her little world is temporarily turned upside down. Knowing Hansi, she will probably handle it all with grace and that delightful little grin of hers.

 

 

 

9 Responses to “Homemade Gifts”

  1. Helette October 11, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Well done my friend that is too gorgeous for words! I (in the nicest possible way) envy the people that have you living close to them.
    I hope they know how lucky they are!

    • dustbusting October 11, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      Hey man, you make me all teary saying stuff like that!
      Thank you friend

  2. Helette October 11, 2010 at 10:11 am #

    😉 Remember to mail me the dates, so Connie can sort out his leave. :-)))))))))))))))

  3. Brigitte October 11, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    how beautiful,you are great making all these nice things just amazing .

    • dustbusting October 11, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

      Thanks Brigitte

      I really enjoyed making them although they took way longer than they should have with Luka being around. Half the time I end up sewing with him on my lap as he wants to watch what I’m doing.

  4. jana October 11, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    I can’t believe you stole Baby while Hansi wasn’t looking! So sweet of you. Those are really cute dresses you made for her – and I love the idea of washable diapers. I’m sure she’ll put the clothes to good use.

    I can’t believe I forgot how wonderfully satisfying making dresses for my dolls used to be.

    • dustbusting October 11, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Wasn’t it just! And I am so glad my Mom taught me how to sew, I can’t imagine not being able to make the multitude of things I have made since I was about 11 years old. She was very brave letting me loose on her sewing machine and I am eternally grateful for it.

      You have also brought back memories of long lazy Saturday afternoons playing with my dolls as my Mom made them new outfits. I was a very lucky little girl.

  5. Gayle October 11, 2010 at 9:32 pm #

    Ah! Pipsy well done love, you are very creative and a perfectionist at that, the dresses are so sweet. I love the little carry cot it’s tooooo…cute for words. She is a dear little girl and can just see her walking around the compound, Luka in tow with his sporting gear such a cute picture!

    • dustbusting October 12, 2010 at 6:50 am #

      Thanks Mom.
      I enjoyed making them even though it ends up being such a stop-start affair that it takes way longer than it should. Next project, building a little road system and train station for Luka’s birthday train set.

Leave a Reply

