What we’ve been up to of late

24 Nov

First and foremost Luka’s been doing ALOT of this! Not the shrinking back to a newborn bit, but the crying all day part.

We are not sure what happened to our sweet little boy, if anyone has seen him please let us know. We’d like him back. Could it be that we have hit the terrible 2’s with a bang? Probably a bit of that but also a wave of illness that had us all on our knees, literally. A few days before leaving for Muscat, Luka caught the vomiting bug that has been doing the rounds. It had him redecorating both his bedroom and ours for 3 consecutive nights. I have NEVER done so many loads of washing and we were even reduced to sleeping in our sleeping bags one night due to a lack of clean bedding. And then it was my turn. Fortunately I just visited Hurlville for one night, albeit a long night that finally ended at 5 in the morning. There is nothing quite like trying to change bedding, holding an inconsolable sick baby and running to the loo for a hurl all at the same time. If anyone mentions the word sick in our house now Luka immediately pipes up with ‘Mummy, toilet’. Yip, that little bit of dignity I used to have, wiped out in one head-in-the-toilet-whilst-Luka-looks-on night. And then it was Olaf’s turn. Luckily Luka and I were done by this stage and so Olaf just had to round off  our hurl your lungs out spree. Needless to say, we all left for Muscat 2 kg’s lighter. The boys could ill afford it but as a girl you know what they say, ‘You can never be too thin or too rich’ so I didn’t mind all that much.

And now that we are back, Luka has a horrible respiratory tract infection and so he is still doing a lot of the moaning, clinging, crying and the not sleeping thing. This too shall pass… We are very seldom ill, so I guess we needed to have our turn.

Other than that, I finally finished the little guest bathroom downstairs. Not the biggest room in the house to decorate but with my decorate-on-the-cheap mentality, it means things take time to come together as I end up making a lot of it myself or use things I already have around the house. The 2 pics of Paris on the wall are postcards I bought there on our recent trip to France. The white paper peace cranes I folded using a tutorial I found using Google and the rest is mostly IKEA cheapo stuff from the kitchen ware department. Have I mentioned how much I love IKEA? It’s the perfect store for expat living – cheap, cheerful and huge.

Our little bit of green – namely our garden had come out of the summer season looking like this.

We don’t really have to take care of our gardens here, we have gardeners who do it for us but this little flower box is out of sight of passing traffic and the village management so it tends to get neglected by the gardeners when new plants are bought and planted. I also miss gardening so we headed of to a little road-side nursery a few weeks ago and bought a few plants. It looks so much healthier and it’s nice to have our little bit of green look different from everyone else’s.

6 Responses to “What we’ve been up to of late”

  1. Gayle November 27, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Your visitors ‘loo’ looks lovely and the origami birds are delightful. I agree the internet is wonderful with all the online tutorials, one can leearn a lot and, have great fun, well done Pipsy!

    • dustbusting December 3, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

      Thanks Mom. All the stuff that keeps me busy…

  2. Jana November 29, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    Oh, I do hope you all can feel like your old selves soon! Fighting a nasty cold that turns my nose into a leaking faucet and my throat to sandpaper, I feel an extra dose of compassion for all the suffering souls.

    • dustbusting December 3, 2010 at 5:53 pm #

      Thanks, Jana. We are all now officially in the clear again. We have also just gotten over our winter dose of flu so we should be fine for a while now. Here’s hoping…
      Hope you are feeling better too!

  3. Sue January 19, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    Is that the windmill that I gave you before I left? If it is, I’m glad it found a new home. BTW, I like how you do up yr bathroom. Infact, I like how you do up yr whole house!!

    • dustbusting January 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

      It sure is! Amazing how long it has lasted considering that Luka plays with it all the time and often uses it as a wheelbarrow.

      I have big plans (all on the cheap , of course) for our house this year. Will keep you posted as the changes occur. Oh how Arabian Homes management will love me!

Leave a Reply

