Finally, finally!

25 Jun

I know that I have not written a post for THE LONGEST TIME! There is no valid excuse, I have not been recovering from a near-fatal accident (thankfully), have not been ill, have not suddenly gotten a real job (thankfully). ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!

It started with a problem accessing News From The Land of Sand’s admin areas preventing me from doing anything other than reading my old posts, passed through the ‘I’ve Just Joined FaceBook’ phase and ended with a complete lack of inspiration because ‘I’d Just Left it Far Too Long’!  I think I’m back though. I know that just getting something out again will probably get the ball rolling.

We have been busy whilst I was away. New developments that will provide me with loads of writing opportunities are on the horizon and will be shared in the coming weeks. In the mean time, we took a trip the city of Doha in Qatar(host country of the 2022 Football World Cup) a few weeks ago.

 

Olaf and I lived and worked in Qatar for 2 years, it was our first foray into the Middle East. I had not been back since leaving about 4 years ago so was excited to see what had changed whilst we were away. Like so many Middle Eastern cities the landscape is constantly changing and developing. There is still lots of building work going on and with the prospect of  a World Cup to host in 10 years time it’s won’t be ending anytime soon. But despite it being a city in progress it has a certain charm. It is pretty and neat and organised (as in the driving is almost normal). It has green GRASS and lots of it. I just wanted to roll around on the grass to feel it against my skin. Fortunately I didn’t. Headline in the local paper the following day, “South African woman arrested for rolling down embankments around the corniche and scaring passers-by – husband and child left destitute.” Well maybe not quite destitute, more angry but unsurprised by madness. Anyway…

We loved spending all day on the beach…

and in the pool…

hooking up with old friends…

and meeting precious new arrivals…

It was a great break away from the 4 walls of the compound (that were starting to close in on me) and a trip we have wanted to do for a long time.

And so to end this long-awaited (by the 3 family members that follow this blog) post, my favorite shot from Qatar.

3 Responses to “Finally, finally!”

  1. Steve Wilson June 25, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    Hey! We follow the blog too you know!

    • dustbusting June 26, 2011 at 5:16 am #

      Who are you? Hang on, I think I recognise you as the double John Lidbetter All Weather International Stone Skimming Champions…and you follow MY blog. WOW, I’m honoured.

  2. OPA & OMA June 26, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    hi Thank you it was good to hear from you on the blog.great picture’s

Leave a Reply

