Moving on…

4 Jul

It’s been a few months in the planning but with only 2 weeks left in the Land of Sand, I think it would be safe to say we are now officially moving on. Our formally happy home is looking more like the basic ‘ Arabian Homes standard 3 bedroom house’ with each passing day. The walls are bare, the shelves are neatly packed ready for boxing, Olaf has finished work and we are sitting around waiting and waiting and waiting. We built a few, well more than just a few, weeks into our leaving plans as experience has taught us that the exit process always takes longer than it should…and we could not have been more right. There are a few loose ends that still need to be tied up before we fly out on July 19th.

Why are we leaving the Magic Kingdom, you ask? Olaf’s work contract has come to an end and after spending 3 years working in Saudi Arabia he feels that a change of venue would be a good idea. The dusty, ridiculously hot, ultra-conservative, extremely peculiar desert kingdom turned out to be quite different from what we expected.  To be fair, I have not worked whilst living here so my everyday experiences have been vastly different from Olaf’s but we can both agree that the friends we made and the time we spent with them has made living in Saudi Arabia enriching, fun-filled and so very memorable. We will miss them all more than we care to admit.

We’ll be heading home to Cape Town for a fabulously long holiday whilst the details of our next destination are being finalised. Once all t’s have been crossed and i’s dotted I’ll be sure to share it all with you.

Until then, we wait…

 

7 Responses to “Moving on…”

  1. JamesBrett July 5, 2011 at 2:54 am #

    you guys are moving to tanzania, huh…

    glad you’ve enjoyed your time in saudi arabia. anxious to hear where you guys will be next.

    • dustbusting July 5, 2011 at 4:01 am #

      Gosh, I’d love to but I fear that deepest, darkest Africa may be a step too far for my German husband. Although I’d be happy to do it, he’s not too keen on living rough and we have always agreed that we both need to be comfortable with the destinations that offer us a chance to make a living. So…Tanzania it will not be.

      Any plans for your Comrades run yet?

      • JamesBrett July 5, 2011 at 6:21 am #

        okay, it was worth a guess at least. figured the chances were slim.

        no plans for comrades other than knowing it will be 2014. we generally don’t plan that far ahead for things, but it seems necessary when we’re trying to save the money needed while on a missionary budget.

  2. Sue July 5, 2011 at 5:04 am #

    Hi,
    I read with surprise and happy for you and your family that you are leaving KSA. I have to admit it really tough living there but I’ll do miss it from time to time; esp all the gd frens ( like yrself 🙂 that I made in AH. Like Naima said, when u first come to KSA you will cry and when u leave KSA u will cry leaving all the good frens that you have made.

    I’m still here in Sin and we just bought a condo unit which only be ready in 2014. Till then we’ll still staying at mum’s place. The rental here is too much! I’m looking at part-time work while Hariz in school. Send our hugs & kisses to Olaf & Luca. Ahmad & Hansi are ‘losing; another playdate ;(

    Do pls keep in touch where ever you are. Take care

    xoxo
    Sue

    • dustbusting July 5, 2011 at 10:33 am #

      Hi Sue

      Truth be told, I am very sad to leave the Magic Kingdom. It is very strange I know, as most people jump at the chance to get out as soon as possible. There are many frustrating and limiting things about living here but we have moved around alot in our time together so staying put for a while has been nice. Olaf and I have not lived in 1 place for more than 22 months and I feel settled here. Even Saudi has been 2 x 1.5 year stays! I love the sense of community living in the compound has brought us and making new friends every few years is seriously overrated to me now. I love the easy friendships we have here.

      However, I also have to say…I have now wrapped my head around the fact that we are going and am really looking forward to getting home and spending time with family and friends in SA for a while. The new challenges ahead will be fun too and I am excited about our new destination. All the sitting around waiting has definately helped me to feel keen to move on.

      So on we forge…

      Love to you all. May your new condo get built really fast, it must be tough living at home again for such an extended period of time.

      Philippa, Olaf and Luka

  3. sara July 6, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    we will miss you a lot guys…
    wish you all the best where ever you go.

    • dustbusting July 6, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      You, Dana and Noor will be missed too, my friend. Not sure how Luka is going to cope without all his ‘girl friends’.

Leave a Reply

