A Midnight Biathlon

9 Jul

One of the things I will miss about living in The Land of Sand is that in some ways, on some occasions, I feel like I am reliving my university years. I have a husband and toddler to keep me grounded but when the toddler has been put to bed and only the adults remain we sometimes get up to the most-innapropriate-for-our-age activities. Things that would be far better suited to people in the early 20’s. We will probably never live in an environment like this again where we can be outside getting up to all kinds of shenanigans whilst Luka sleeps peacefully in bed. We have a good quality baby monitor so that we can jump up and attend to him if he wakes up and needs us but still have the freedom to enjoy the evening with our friends, not having to worry about disturbing the wee one’s sleep. 

Our post-teen activities usually begin as a story someone is telling about something they did long, long ago (when they were young) or, more often than not, as a stupid idea that is thrown around whilst we feast on delicious lamb chops straight off the fire. There are just enough of us who enjoy these types of challenges, to pick up the idea, develop and adapt it for our environment and suddenly BOOM! we find ourselves planning exactly how to hit a person lying on a Lilo in the pool with a watermelon from a nearby balcony or something equally stupid.

A few weekends ago whilst sitting around chatting after a BBQ someone casually brought up the idea of planning a biathlon, consisting of running and swimming, around the compound. It is not a new idea, we have discussed it before but have never gotten around to planning one properly. Our compound has 16 fair-sized swimming pools, each one surrounded by about 10 houses and all linked by pathways between the clusters of houses. Simply put, we would start running from our pooldeck and make our way through the entire compound stopping to swim through each pool before moving on to the next. It is about 40 degrees Celsius at night now so the weather is perfect for the activity.

Deciding that there is no time quite like the present, 4 of us set off on ‘The Inaugural Pooldeck 1 Midnight Bialthlon’. One of the 4 of us also brought along a camera and snapped some pics along the way. 

 I chose some of the photos that best disguise my fellow athletes, as despite being hooligans over weekends, they actually hold fairly senior positions in the corporate world and I do not wish to embarrass them in any way.

If we were to stay a little longer I think that this idea could be developed into a fully fledged biathlon, perhaps even bringing in a few bicycles and turning it into a triathlon. The possibilities are endless… but with only 10 days including 1 jam-packed weekend left in The Land of Sand, I fear our time may be too short.

I’m just glad I had the privilege of being part of the very first one.

4 Responses to “A Midnight Biathlon”

  1. JamesBrett July 10, 2011 at 2:35 am #

    but you didn’t answer the burning question…

    did you win?

  2. dustbusting July 10, 2011 at 4:45 am #

    I could have but…
    we planned the route whilst en route and I was laughing too much and one competitior was over 50, wearing specs and carrying a camera. We were mildly distracted by the challenge of swimming through the ponds along the way. I have a million excuses for a very poor athletic performance!

  3. sarahnsh July 10, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    That looks like a ton of fun, I wish I had a pool and could hold little competitions, because, of course, I’d win. 😉 Looks like you guys had a blast!

  4. dustbusting July 10, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

    We absolutely did, thanks Sarahnsh! I am all too aware of the childishness of it all but I shall blame it on being a stay-at-home Mom. It seems I may be regressing…at least I am not alone. The other weekend hooligans are always just as keen as I am to participate in our crazy midnight activities.

Leave a Reply

