A Break Away from our Holiday

19 Sep

Firstly, apologies for not blogging regularly at the moment. We have no internet access where we are staying which means I can only post something new when we are with family and I do not wish to spend my visits with family on my laptop. I’m completely out of touch with the younger generation as I still think it’s rude to spend half my day attached to an electronic device. I know…I’m SUCH an old-timer. Anyway, I shall attempt to ignore everyone, focus totally on my electronic device and put something new up today, mostly because my Mom needs something new to read. I think she has probably reread my entire blog from first post to last whilst waiting for some NEW PICS OF HER DAUGHTER AND FAMILY.

So in the interests of moving right along, I shall begin.

Meet my very special friend, Helette, her husband Conrad (who’s pretty special too) and their two gorgeous girls Lindi-pops and Neenee.

 Helette and I have known each other for well over 10 years. We met in our early 20’s, fresh out of university and in our first years of working and earning a little bit of our own money. I was not a big party animal at university, well not regularly anyway. I was a full-time student but also a full-time athlete. I needed to achieve a certain level of success on the sports field in order to fund my studies which meant I needed to be disciplined. Needless to say, once I was working I was able to let my hair down a little and not worry about the repercussions of Friday night come back to haunt me on Saturday morning on the athletics track. I still competed seriously for a few years after varsity but I got to finally play with my misbehaving friends a lot more. Helette and I spent many of our early working years growing up and throwing up (it wasn’t quite as bad as that) but we have had many memorable adventures together.

Since those early days we have played a part in one another’s engagements and weddings and have always spoken to one other within a few hours of having our babies, no matter where in the world we were. It’s that kind of friendship and I hope it will always be so.

In any visit to South Africa, we try to meet up with the Van Rensburgs and this holiday has been no different.

Enter one of our most favorite places in the world…Thiessen Island.

Theissen is a small reclaimed island, situated in the lagoon in the coastal town of Knysna, a 6 hour drive from Cape Town. Olaf and I love everything about Thiessen and dream of living there someday in the very distant future. For now though we are happy to rent a house on the island and get as many of our family and friends to join us for holidays. We rented a small house for a few days and got the V R’s to drive the 3 hours from Port Elizabeth, where they live, and join us for a long weekend.

 It was cold, the wind blew gales, it rained and we were stuck indoors for half the weekend BUT we had a fabulous time hanging out together.

When we had the opportunity we got out and played on the beach

went for walks

and ended the day with long, romantic bubble baths. Nah, not really. Luka did not fully appreciate the opportunity of bathing with 2 gorgeous girls but I’m sure he will…in time.

One Response to “A Break Away from our Holiday”

  1. Helette September 27, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    AAWWWWW!!
    Missing you lots my friend!!!
    Was absolutely fabulous to spend time with you all….
    Just wish we had more opportunities to get together.

    Always always always your maaikie
    xxx

Leave a Reply

